Sign in to follow this  
LisaLarter

Publishing

LisaLarter

I'm working on my next book. I've completed one chapter. Yay me - I know, no big deal, get on with it. 4000 words is not even 10% of what you need but finishing one chapter is significant for me. 

My question is around publishing. I am an advocate of speed even though I've been a slow writer. I am more in the retail space as Alan would say. Do I self publish or should I pitch a traditional publisher and if I go the publishing route, which ones are the best for getting a book out quickly? 

Praveen

You can have both traditional and self-published books. Since you have a strong brand, you can sell self-published books to your audience, while your traditionally published ones build credibility with more corporate audiences.

The easiest and fastest way to self-publish is with Createspace, though they only do paperback books, not hardback ones.

They will automatically be available in all Amazons, since Createspace is owned by Amazon.

LisaLarter

What is the fastest traditional publisher? 

Alan Weiss

There is no fastest traditional publisher. It depends on how fast you submit the book, what their publishing calendar is, the time of year, and the mood of the editorial board. You can probably get a commercially published book out within four months of getting it to the publisher. The problem with your question is that you don't indicate what the book is about or who your audience is. "Retail" is broad. Praveen's response is situational. Your brand is known in some places, not others, and it's not as strong as it should be in any case. 

I wouldn't advise Createspace, but rather a more methodical approach to the book, art work, printing, formatting, and so on. 

LisaLarter